Sign In Forgot Password

Guide for the Perplexed

Sunday, April 21, 2024 13 Nisan 5784

3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Past Sessions
Sunday, April 14, 2024 6 Nisan 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, April 7, 2024 28 Adar II 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, March 31, 2024 21 Adar II 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, March 24, 2024 14 Adar II 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, March 17, 2024 7 Adar II 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, March 10, 2024 30 Adar I 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, March 3, 2024 23 Adar I 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, February 25, 2024 16 Adar I 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, February 18, 2024 9 Adar I 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, February 11, 2024 2 Adar I 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, February 4, 2024 25 Sh'vat 5784 - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Instructor: Nathan Schumer
Time: Sundays, 3:00–4:00 p.m.
Location: Temple Beth El and Zoom
Cost: $54 members/$72 non-members

Dates:
February: 4, 11, 18, 25
March: 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
April: 7, 14, 21

Description:
This is a reading course in Maimonides’ most famous philosophical work, the Guide for the Perplexed. This course will continue the reading from the first semester, and finish up the book. We will focus on trying to closely understand Maimonides’ arguments, philosophical engagement, biblical reading strategy, and conceptions of law and revelation. Guide for the Perplexed is one of the most important works in Jewish philosophy; it is probably the best example of the tradition of harmonizing the work of Greek philosophy and Bible and was incredibly influential on later Christian and Muslim philosophical traditions, as well as on the Jews. It was often banned and burned, considered heretical by Jewish communities, and was a favorite work of Enlightenment Jewish thinkers and reformers. If you would like to join and were not in the first class, please reach out to the instructor Nathan Schumer at nss2108@gmail.com.

Textbook link: https://www.amazon.com/Guide-Perplexed-Vol-2/dp/0226502317.

Click here to register.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Thu, April 18 2024 10 Nisan 5784